Home » breads » Our Daily (Wheat) Bread

Our Daily (Wheat) Bread

538262_10200643723514471_426622930_nI’m calling it with this as the house wheat bread. I’ll admit- my first loaf with this recipe version was pure disaster. Worst. Loaf. Ever. Clearly not mixed and practically a pudding on the inside. But you know what they say- it’s always darkest before the dawn. And dawn means sun rise. And our golden rise was courtesy of Prairie  Gold.

I had been playing with this whole wheat bread recipe. And I have to say I haven’t loved it. Still very dense and not a great rise. Maybe that would improve over time though. This weekend we went to HochStetler’s Country Store and I picked up a bag of Prairie Gold 100% Whole Wheat. I modified the recipe noted above to the following and it. is. lovely. Try it!

Ingredients
  • 4 ¼ cups Prairie Gold 100% whole-wheat flour
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup scalded skim milk
  • 1 cup cool tap water
  • ¼ cup warmed honey
  • 2 tablespoons salted butter
  • 2 ¼ teaspoons yeast ( I used 1 rapid rise packet and the whole wheat rapid setting for the pictured loaf)
Instructions
  1. Follow your bread machine’s directions for making a whole-wheat or whole-wheat rapid loaf depending on your yeast. I think next time I’ll change out myskim milk for buttermilk.

307961_10200643744755002_513739390_n

2 thoughts on “Our Daily (Wheat) Bread

  1. Pingback: five minute friday: home | Ordinary Afters...

Leave a comment